Writing and Maple Syrup

mikeaztec

Writing for me has always been a bit like making maple syrup. As a kid growing up in Vermont, my mom would send me and my sisters out into the freezing cold armed only with hammers, spigots, hooks and buckets. After hours of work, and a few smashed fingers, about twelve of our Maple trees would begin the drip by drip process of filling our cavernous steel-grey buckets. Only after an agonizingly long period….I was eight and never very patient….would we have enough sap to try and make some syrup. I still remember my despair upon learning that it took 86 gallons of sap to make a gallon of tasty syrup. It did not seem very fair, but my mom reminded me that all good things took hard work, time, and the involvement of many like-minded individuals. At the end of the day, I enjoyed that syrup and maple candy….enough…

View original post 119 more words

Leave a Reply

